Eatons Hill location and character
Eatons Hill lies approximately 21 kilometres north-west of the Brisbane central business district and about eight kilometres south-west of Strathpine, within the City of Moreton Bay local government area. The South Pine River forms the southern boundary of the locality. The rise that gives the suburb its name reaches 84 metres in the eastern part of the area, and the residential streets follow the contours of that ground rather than a regular grid.
The name commemorates the pioneer William Eaton, who farmed at Albany Creek from 1874 and served on the Pine Shire Council between 1909 and 1912. Construction of a bridge over the South Pine River at Cashs Crossing was proposed in 1891, began in August 1892 and was completed in November 1892, and the structure survived major floods in February 1893. Bunya Crossing, an unfenced ford, also crosses the river here.
Residential development began in the early 1970s and expanded westward in the late 1990s, and Eatons Hill State School opened on 22 January 1998. The defining Census characteristic is the almost total dominance of the detached house. At the 2021 Census there were 2,478 occupied private dwellings, of which 2,459 were separate houses, 16 were semi-detached or townhouse dwellings and five were flats or apartments, giving shares of 99.2, 0.6 and 0.2 per cent.
Transport and amenity in Eatons Hill
Eatons Hill has no railway station. The nearest station is Strathpine, on the North Coast railway line, which is served by Queensland Rail Caboolture and Redcliffe Peninsula line services running south through Bald Hills and Northgate to Bowen Hills and Central. Reaching the station requires a bus or a car, so the suburb's public transport position is a connection to rail rather than rail access in the immediate sense.
Translink bus routes 357, 358 and 359 serve the area. South Pine Road is the main road through the suburb and runs south-east toward Everton Park and the inner northern suburbs and north-west toward Albany Creek and Warner. Cashs Crossing carries road traffic over the South Pine River. Because the area is hilly and the streets follow the contours, local journeys are less direct than a map suggests, and peak conditions are worth testing on the intended route.
Eatons Hill State School serves the primary years and there is no secondary school within the suburb. The Eatons Hill Hotel on South Pine Road is the principal entertainment and dining venue in the district. The river corridor at Cashs Crossing and Bunya Crossing provides open space and river access. This guide does not describe school catchments, which the Queensland Department of Education can confirm.
Housing stock in Eatons Hill
Eatons Hill is built of detached brick and tile houses on estate lots, the earlier ones dating from the 1970s and the later ones from the westward expansion of the 1990s and 2000s. Attached housing is almost absent. Because the stock is post-war, the inspection issues characteristic of pre-war Brisbane timber housing, such as stumps, restumping and subfloor drainage, matter far less here than they do in the inner suburbs.
At the 2021 Census there were 2,478 occupied private dwellings. Of these, 2,459 were separate houses, 16 were semi-detached or townhouse dwellings and only five were flats or apartments, or 99.2, 0.6 and 0.2 per cent, against national figures of 72.3, 12.6 and 14.2 per cent. The houses are large: 1,478 dwellings had four bedrooms and 450 had five or more, against 514 with three bedrooms, 16 with two and four with one.
The Census recorded 52 unoccupied private dwellings out of 2,525 on Census night, a very low count. Combined with a rented share of 10.2 per cent, that points to a market in which few properties are available at any one time. For a buyer the consequence is a shorter list of directly comparable sales, which makes valuation outcomes on the largest houses less predictable than in a deeper market.
Who lives and buys in Eatons Hill
The 2021 Census counted 7,822 residents in Eatons Hill, with a median age of 38, the same as the national figure, and an average household size of 3.1 people compared with 2.5 nationally. Residents aged 45 to 54 were the largest group at 1,456, followed by 1,295 children aged 5 to 14, 1,060 aged 35 to 44 and 950 aged 55 to 64. There were 670 residents aged 15 to 19.
Leverage is the defining tenure pattern. The Census recorded 1,494 dwellings owned with a mortgage, 702 owned outright and 252 rented, so 60.7 per cent of households with a stated tenure held a mortgage, 28.5 per cent owned outright and 10.2 per cent rented, against 35.0, 31.0 and 30.6 per cent nationally. A mortgage share above 60 per cent is the highest among the six suburbs covered in this group.
Median weekly household income was $2,771 against $1,746 nationally, median monthly mortgage repayments were $2,151 against $1,863 and median weekly rent was $460 against $375. The picture is of large family households with incomes well above the national figure carrying debt on large houses. Competition for a listing therefore comes from dual income households rather than from investors, who own only a small part of the suburb.
Bushfire, flooding and planning in Eatons Hill
Eatons Hill sits near bushland and open river corridor country. Queensland councils map bushfire hazard areas through the planning scheme overlays, and a buyer should confirm the position for a specific address with the City of Moreton Bay rather than infer it from the appearance of the street. This guide does not state a bushfire hazard rating for any address in the suburb. Insurers price bushfire risk into a premium, and a lender requires building insurance at settlement.
The South Pine River forms the southern boundary, and the North Pine and Pine River corridors are flood exposed. Exposure varies materially by address, and this guide does not state a flood level, a flood depth or a flood history for Eatons Hill or for any street within it. A buyer should obtain a flood check property report from the City of Moreton Bay for the specific address, and should do so before the cooling-off period expires rather than after settlement.
Estate era matters rather than character controls are the planning issues most likely to arise. Covenants imposed when land was released can run with the land and bind later buyers, easements and drainage reserves cross some lots, and the river corridor is subject to its own controls. These are matters for the buyer's solicitor to identify from the title and from the seller disclosure documents before the contract is signed.
Buying in Eatons Hill under Queensland law
Queensland's general seller disclosure obligation began on 1 August 2025, when the Property Law Act 2023 commenced. A seller must give the buyer a seller disclosure statement in the approved Form 2, together with certain prescribed certificates, before the buyer signs the contract. Queensland had no general seller disclosure obligation before that date, so a buyer who has purchased in the state previously may find the documents unfamiliar.
A private treaty contract carries a cooling-off period of five business days, beginning on the day the buyer receives a copy of the contract signed by both parties. Terminating within that period allows the seller to deduct up to 0.25 per cent of the purchase price from the deposit, with the balance refunded within 14 days. A contract formed at auction has no cooling-off period, so inspections and finance must be settled beforehand.
Disclosure does not replace inspection. A buyer of a house built in the 1970s should still commission an independent building and pest inspection, and where extensions, decks, pools or retaining walls have been added, should confirm that the work was approved and certified. Building work in Queensland is regulated by the Queensland Building and Construction Commission, which holds licensing records and the statutory insurance position for notifiable work.
Home loan considerations for Eatons Hill property
Serviceability rather than deposit is usually the binding constraint. Median monthly mortgage repayments of $2,151 at the 2021 Census were above the national $1,863, and 60.7 per cent of households with a stated tenure were carrying a mortgage. Lenders assess capacity using an interest rate buffer above the rate actually charged, and an average household size of 3.1 people means dependants often raise the household expenditure measure applied in the assessment.
At higher property values many lenders reduce the maximum loan-to-value ratio, applying a lower cap above certain loan or property value thresholds and requiring a larger deposit than the headline policy suggests. Lenders mortgage insurers apply their own limits, which can be stricter again. With 1,478 four-bedroom dwellings and 450 with five or more bedrooms recorded at the Census, much of the stock sits where those reductions apply.
Valuation is the second constraint. With only 52 unoccupied private dwellings out of 2,525 and a rented share of 10.2 per cent, listings are limited and comparable sales for the largest houses can be thin. A valuation below the contract price reduces the loan available and must be met from the buyer's own funds, so holding a deposit buffer through to settlement is prudent in a market of this shape.
Lending considerations for Eatons Hill
- Median monthly repayments of $2,151 against $1,863 nationally make assessed serviceability the binding test.
- Lenders may apply a lower maximum loan-to-value ratio above certain loan or property value thresholds.
- Only 52 unoccupied dwellings out of 2,525 and a 10.2 per cent rented share mean thin comparable sales.
- Bushfire hazard mapping should be confirmed for the address with the City of Moreton Bay before an offer.
- South Pine River flood exposure varies by address and needs a flood check property report.
Lender policy differs between institutions and changes over time. The guide to Australian lenders explains how credit policy varies, and the home loan guide sets out the main loan structures.
Transfer duty when buying in Eatons Hill, QLD
Transfer duty, commonly called stamp duty, is set by the state or territory rather than by suburb. The table shows indicative duty in Queensland for an owner-occupier buying an established home at four illustrative purchase prices. These prices are examples only and are not an indication of values in Eatons Hill.
| Purchase price | Owner-occupier duty | Eligible first home buyer |
|---|---|---|
| $500,000 | $8,750 | Nil |
| $750,000 | $19,600 | $10,925 |
| $1,000,000 | $30,850 | $30,850 |
| $1,500,000 | $59,600 | $59,600 |
Indicative relief: the first home concession removes duty to $700,000, and the concession then reduces in steps until it reaches nil at $800,000. New homes attract a full concession with no price cap. Figures are indicative, exclude transfer and mortgage registration fees, and are subject to change. Eligibility conditions apply. Confirm the amount with the relevant revenue office before relying on it, or model a specific price with the stamp duty calculator. Grants and guarantees are explained in the government grants guide.
Frequently asked questions about buying in Eatons Hill
Is Eatons Hill entirely detached houses?
Almost. At the 2021 Census, separate houses were 2,459 of the 2,478 occupied private dwellings, or 99.2 per cent, against 72.3 per cent nationally. Semi-detached and townhouse dwellings numbered 16 and flats or apartments only five. A buyer looking for attached housing will effectively be looking in a neighbouring suburb instead.
Why is the mortgage share so high in Eatons Hill?
The 2021 Census recorded 1,494 dwellings owned with a mortgage, or 60.7 per cent of households with a stated tenure, against 35.0 per cent nationally. Median weekly household income was $2,771 against $1,746. The profile is of large family households, averaging 3.1 people, buying large houses and servicing debt rather than renting.
How does Eatons Hill connect to Brisbane?
There is no railway station in the suburb. The nearest is Strathpine on the North Coast railway line, served by Caboolture and Redcliffe Peninsula line trains to Bowen Hills and Central. Translink bus routes 357, 358 and 359 serve the area, and South Pine Road is the main road link toward Everton Park and the inner north.
Should I check bushfire risk in Eatons Hill?
Yes. The suburb sits near bushland, and Queensland councils map bushfire hazard areas through planning scheme overlays. Confirm the position for the specific address with the City of Moreton Bay rather than judging from the street. Insurers price bushfire risk into the building premium, and a lender requires that insurance to be in place at settlement.
Will a lender cap my loan-to-value ratio here?
It may. At higher property values many lenders reduce the maximum loan-to-value ratio above certain loan or property value thresholds, and lenders mortgage insurers apply their own limits which can be stricter again. With 1,478 four-bedroom dwellings and 450 larger ones recorded at the Census, much of the stock sits in that range.
Who lives in Eatons Hill?
The 2021 Census counted 7,822 residents with a median age of 38 and an average household size of 3.1 people, above the national 2.5. Residents aged 45 to 54 numbered 1,456 and children aged 5 to 14 numbered 1,295. Of households with a stated tenure, 60.7 per cent held a mortgage and only 10.2 per cent rented.
Sources for the Eatons Hill guide
- Australian Bureau of Statistics: 2021 Census of Population and Housing, General Community Profile (tables G01, G02, G36, G37, G41), Suburbs and Localities
- City of Moreton Bay: Flood check property report
- City of Moreton Bay: Flood hazard overlay
- Queensland Government: Seller disclosure scheme
- Queensland Government: Cooling-off period
- Property Law Act 2023 (Qld)
- Queensland Building and Construction Commission
- Wikipedia: Eatons Hill, Queensland